Your Smile

Your face unknown to me in the physical
And yet I know your smile so completely
I can feel it from a thousand miles
And it lightens up my heart
Your laugh has yet to be given sound unto my ears
And yet when you laugh
I laugh and smile
As if your laugh has the ability to move my body
It is the strangest sensation
It is so with a few others as well
There is no way to explain this
No one who would believe this experience
They would call me crazy
But if I am crazy
Then we all should be
If every person could feel the presence of another
As I do you and others
They would never relate to the world the same
I feel you when I fall asleep
And when I awaken
And at many points in between
You are a rock that does not falter for me
There are not words for all that conveys between us
I often wonder how I will feel when I see your face
For the first time
See that smile
Hear that laugh
I fear I will see you from across a large distance
And not be able to stop myself from racing into your arms
With all around us seeing us as complete strangers
You’ll know me that day
But will you admit it aloud
In front of others who know little to nothing of your inner life
It matters not
Because whether we both embrace the truth in fullness in an instant
Or create together an illusion
Of getting to know each other slowly
Seeing you will fill my heart with joy

Engtovo ~ September 12, 2005

25 thoughts on “Your Smile

  1. hello engtovo,

    I just dropped by to check out the latest entry in your blog…

    take heart, fair lady… love may be like objects in the mirror,

    closer than they appear.

    hope all is well with you.

    peace.

  2. Really beautiful! a reflection of the eternal nature of love and and one of the most affective manifestation on man – smile. God Bless You!

  3. so wonderfully made I can sort of relate to most of the lines…do visit my blog to see some of my poems….adeic.wordpress.com …can i add you to my blogroll???

  4. You’ve gotten many comments on this already but I couldn’t help but let you know how talented you are. It’s a beautiful poem and it lifted my spirits. It reminded me the joys of being with someone you care for. Rather than all the bad parts of relationships that I’ve been thinking about lately.
    So yea. Job well done.

  5. that’s beautiful from the heart
    and i can feel the words
    i know how you feel too… =)
    although those days seem so distant now…
    your words seem to bring those days close to me!

Leave a Reply

